Skip to content

Technology is great (and sometimes annoying) My favorite inventions of this decade

December 30, 2009

Another decade has gone by.  Another decade older.  *sigh*  Oh well.  Everybody seems to be doing best of lists so I figured I better jump on the bandwagon.  There have been a lot of things that have been introduced in the last 10 years that have made life much more convenient, and sometimes more annoying.  These are all technology based products that have changed life as we know it.  

Bluetooth  

The first time I heard about Bluetooth technology, I thought to myself “What a weird name.  It’ll probably never catch on.”  Well, I was wrong.  And that is notable because it is the first time I ever remember being wrong.  Anyways, the wireless gadgets that were conceived with Bluetooth have severely cut down on the production of wires.  The only reason it’s not higher on my list is because of the annoying jackasses who wear their earpiece 24 hours a day.  I guess it makes them feel more important.  

If you don't take that damn thing out of your ear, I'm sticking this fork in the other one!

Seriously, if you were that important you would have been assassinated by now.  

YouTube  

The first of two websites that were introduced in the 00’s.  YouTube also introduced the “viral” video.  We as a society can now watch any one of millions of videos of people doing strange and crazy stuff.  Without YouTube, you would have never been one of the 43 million people to view this:  

So be thankful America.   

Wikipedia  

I love Wikipedia for the most part.  The only thing I wish they had was a fact checking staff.  And maybe they do (I know they have a small editing staff), but it’s not enough as mistakes and pranks make it through.    I would still say it’s probably 95% spot on, but because it allows users to edit content some hilarity has ensued.  

While true, it's probably not an official NFL record

 It’s no wonder that my college professors would dock me a full letter grade on any paper I turned in citing Wikipedia as a source.   

Ipod  

It seems like these have been around longer, but they too were started in this decade.  I finally broke down and got one a few years ago.  I don’t think it’s that much better than any other MP3 player, but because of iTunes and proprietary technology, I really didn’t have a choice.  I’m still somewhat in shock that no monopoly laws have been broken.  

There's something for every room in the house

And not only that, the Apple store is almost solely what keeps malls open these days.  I was just in one the other day and there were close to 100 people there.  All in the Apple store.  On a Monday afternoon.  My friend who works there said it was an average day.  Yikes.  How much money does Steve Jobs make in a day?  

High Definition TV  

I love my TV.  I love it far more than any other TV I have ever had.  It’s 46″ of wonderful. (No snide remarks, please.)  My Lakers have never looked so good winning an championship and the movies are spectacular.    I could try to come up with more adjectives, but I think I got my point across.   

It's hard to keep up with the Jones' when Jerry keeps doing stuff like this

I don’t even go to the movie theaters anymore.  What’s the point?  Why would I spend $40 for me and my wife to go see a movie when we can watch a better picture and listen to better sound in the comfort of our own home? I wouldn’t.  

Digital Cameras  

When was the last time you went to get pictures developed?  It’s been about 5 years for me.  And before anyone gets their panties in a bunch, I am well aware that the technology has been around for decades.  Here was my criteria:  It had to be available to the public.  It had to be a minimum of 3 megapixels. (Anything less isn’t worth taking a picture with)  It had to be affordable and practical.  Those three needs were not put into one camera until 2001.   

Before there was a memory card, there was the memory diskette

Since then, our lives have been film free.  Between picture printers and sites like Flickr, there is no longer a need to leave your house to get any picture developed in any size.  

The DVR  

The king of technological advancement in the decade.  There is not a single gadget that makes my life better than my DVR.  I remember getting my first Tivo better than I remember getting my first car.   

A better Christmas present than a Red Ryder 200 shot range model air rifle

No longer did I need to scold myself after forgetting to program the VCR to record the X-Files while I was at work.  Now it’s one button, and the nifty little box remembers for me.  Between the DVR and the DVD player, VCR’s are all but obsolete.  And when was the last time you looked in a TV Guide?  Do you even remember what a TV Guide is?   

It looks like this

It still surprises me that the newspaper industry, with all their problems, still pays for the ink to print the listings on a daily basis. 

Who know’s what the next decade will bring.  Maybe there will be hoverboards and self-lacing shoes.  Remember, Marty McFly and Doc Brown went to 2015 in Back to the Future II.  Those inventions could be only five years away.  There’s always a chance that where we’re going, we might not need roads. 

Maybe the Delorean will be cool again?

We shall see… 

Leave a Reply

