Skip to content

Knowledge is apparently totally overrated in America

December 15, 2009
tags:

Continuing my rant from yesterday about things that annoy me, a popular video on YouTube shows Kellie Pickler, the blonde from “American Idol,” appearing on the Fox game show “Are You Smarter Than a 5th Grader?” during celebrity week. Selected from a third-grade geography curriculum, the $25,000 question asked: “Budapest is the capital of what European country?”  Ms. Pickler threw up both hands and looked at the large blackboard perplexed. “I thought Europe was a country,” she said. Playing it safe, she chose to copy the answer offered by one of the genuine fifth graders: Hungary. “Hungry?” she said, eyes widening in disbelief. “That’s a country? I’ve heard of Turkey. But Hungry? I’ve never heard of it.”  

Hungary? No thanks, I just had a falafel.

Oh. My. God. 

Did she not go to school?  It amazes me sometimes about the lack of education or ignorance of anything outside some people’s little circle.  Other than jealousy, this may be one of the reasons that people hate America.  I love America.  I love being an American.  I feel nothing but lucky to have grown up in this country, but sometimes I can’t stand some of the people who unfortunately had that same luck.  I feel that everyone should know all 50 states, their capitols, and be able to identify at least 60% of the world’s countries on a map.  And that’s just geography.  Don’t get me started on history and science.  I think I’m going to shoot the next person I come across who thinks that Abraham Lincoln was the first president.  It’s pathetic.  I don’t know about you, but I can’t stand not knowing what’s going on in the rest of the world.  I read a newspaper every day and I go to CNN.com for whatever the paper forgets to mention.  I know that’s not everybody’s cup of tea, but for Christ’s sakes people, at least learn that Hungary is a country!  Have you ever seen “Idiocracy”?  I think we’re well on our way to that reality.

"We Hungarians are people too!"

Other countries are on to us too.  This is an Australian news reporter who went “undercover” a couple years ago.  After watching this video, I almost cried for the future.  Especially during the part where they were supposed to show on a map where the countries are.  Who doesn’t know who Tony Blair is?  Were you unconscious during the days following September 11th?  And I’m not even going to start with the triangle thing.  Maybe I’ll walk around saying I’m the Prime Minister of You’re-a-moron-istan and see what happens. 

OK, I admit I wouldn’t know the Australian Prime Minister by sight either, but I wouldn’t say “Oh yeah, I totally saw you on TV.”  I watch the news, but not that much.  I do, however, know how to add better that Fox News. 

 

Um… I’m no rocket scientist, but I’m pretty sure that adds up to 120%.  I guess Fox takes 20% better polls than anywhere else.  And these are supposed to be educated people. 

Ok, I’m done now.  Maybe I’ll go watch “The Hills” and dumb myself down a little.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2009 12:27 pm

    Idiocracy is a hillarious movie!

    • tony permalink
      December 15, 2009 12:38 pm

      Frito: Go away! ‘Batin’!
      *
      Pvt. Joe Bowers: [addressing Congress] … And there was a time in this country, a long time ago, when reading wasn’t just for fags and neither was writing. People wrote books and movies, movies that had stories so you cared whose ass it was and why it was farting, and I believe that time can come again!
      *
      Costco Greeter: [Greeting every customer] Welcome to Costco, I love you. Welcome to Costco, I love you. Welcome to Costco, I love you. Welcome to Costco, I love you.
      *
      Doctor: [laughs] Right, kick ass. Well, don’t want to sound like a dick or nothin’, but, ah… it says on your chart that you’re fucked up. Ah, you talk like a fag, and your shit’s all retarded. What I’d do, is just like… like… you know, like, you know what I mean, like…

  2. Joe permalink
    December 30, 2009 7:34 pm

    Sadly I have to agree with everything you said. I can’t stand Jay Leno and one of the most offensive things he does is his ‘Jaywalking’ segment where he asks people on the street questions about basic science, geography, civics, et al. I realize those segments are severely edited but still – why the hell would you glamorize someone for being so stupid? It’s very sad what our society has become. Did you know that more kids now want to grow up to be a ‘celebrity’ than a politician, business leader or even artist of some kind? They’d rather be Tila Tequila than president. I guess this is why the world hates us so much.

Leave a Reply

