Skip to content

Yeah, I like it. And it doesn’t make me any less of a man! (5 chick flicks that I will totally watch any time)

December 2, 2009
tags: ,

My preference in movies has a wide range.  There are a couple genres I stay away from, but for the most part I’ll give everything a chance.  This has resulted in some movies I love that nobody, especially my male friends,  can quite figure out why.  I’m also a habitual movie quoter, so when I spit out a line form one of these I sometimes get looks of confusion… or shame.  My wife thinks it’s cute.  But I think she just says that to make me feel like it’s OK and I’m not emasculating myself.  

This is what's supposed to happen

So here’s a quick list of movies that were built for a girl but watched by this guy.  One noticeable exception from this list is the Princess Bride. (One of my top 5 movies all time)  The reason I left it off is because it has gained a huge following over time that includes both men and women, so it was omitted. 

Romy and Michele’s High School Reunion

I still can’t believe I don’t own this on DVD.  I’ll watch Romy and Michele’s hijinks any day.  Not to mention Jeanine Garafolo in her crowning moment as the unique rebellious high schooler who stays that way, despite getting rich from developing a fast burning paper for cigarettes.  She also has one of the greatest lines in cinematic history when trying on a flowery dress, saying “this dress exacerbates the genetic betrayal that is my legacy.”  And nothing beats the awesome interpretive dance number to “Time After Time”at the end. 

 

The Princess Diaries

I’m not quite sure why I like this one.  I would say because Anne Hathaway is hot, but she was only 15 when she made this.  So that explanation leaves me feeling a little dirty.  Maybe it is the ugly duckling to swan transformation.  I don’t know.  I just like it.  Deal with it.  However, I could not find a YouTube clip of a good part that was less than 10 minutes long, so no fun time from that.  

And Mandy Moore is in it!! Remember her?

Unfortunately, they decided to grind out a sequel to this one.  Not a good move in my opinion.

 

Legally Blonde

I can’t tell you how many times I have recited this timeless line from Elle Woods: “Exercise gives you endorphins. Endorphins make you happy. Happy people just don’t shoot their husbands, they just don’t.”   

 But like Princess Diaries, they slapped together  far inferior sequel that almost affected my love affair with the original, but not enough to keep it off this list. 

Mean Girls

Oh, Lindsay Lohan, what happened to you?  You were so hot in this movie. (Even though you were technically still a minor)  My how times change.  Regardless, this movie rocks.  Not only that, it’s a treasure trove of great quotes.  There is probably a line from this movie mentioned in my house at least once a day.  The best one pretty much summarizes modern Halloween when she come to the door with nothing but a negligee and some ears.  “I’m a mouse. Duh.” 

Awesome.

Love Actually

This movie is freakin’ epic.  And it has become a Christmas staple in our household. (Which means I’m watching it soon)  It’s probably the only movie I’ve ever seen where every main character (there’s several of them) completely endeared themselves to me and I wanted them all to win.  From the over-the-hill rocker desperately trying to keep his fame to the poor guy who watches the love of his life marry someone else.  It’s just an all around great movie. 

Update: Apparently there is copyrighting on YouTube now.  Just click on the “Watch it on YouTube” and it takes you directly to the video I was trying to post.  Sorry.

Every one should seriously see this movie.  I don’t know how it got tagged with the “Chick flick” label.  Maybe the whole love-conquers-all thing, or maybe because there is a guy who watches the love of his life marry someone else.  Whatever.  Anyhoo,  it’s really good.  Watch it this Christmas.  You’ll thank me.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. tony permalink
    December 3, 2009 10:31 am

    Wow. Just… Wow.
    I think you forgot Pretty Woman and Steel Magnolias.

    • December 3, 2009 12:08 pm

      You know you like every movie up there. The weather must be nice in the land of denial.

  2. jobana perez permalink
    December 3, 2009 11:34 am

    I thought I was the only person that watched Love Actually, that movie makes me cry every time! I still think ur very masculine! What about The Notebook?? Rachel McAdams is hot also in mean girls!

    • December 3, 2009 12:07 pm

      I actually thought The Notebook was awful, but I think we already talked about that at some point in time. Oh, how soon we forget. My chick flick thing can only go so far. An yeah, Rachel McAdams and Lacey Chabert were both hot in Mean Girls. But as soon as Wedding Crashers came out, I liked McAdams better as a brunette.

  3. December 3, 2009 12:21 pm

    Spot on with Rom & Mich – Classic Flick with one of the best Happy Endings of all time. The next 3 are decent but maybe the “Chick Flick” moniker needs to be properly defined…are these chick flicks simply because they have a lady or several ladies in lead roles? If we are suggesting that ladies watch certain movies to either feel better about themselves or for a good snuggle session, may I suggest the following Tear Jerkers: Legends of the Fall (TRISTEN!!!), The Notebook, Sleepless in Seattle, Far and Away, and of course the ALL TIME chick flick – Titanic…Love this blog man, keep it up!

  4. December 3, 2009 12:30 pm

    hey, how do I add a picture like Skip’s? Not as gay of course, but I do like having an image up there…

    • December 3, 2009 1:48 pm

      I think you have to create a WordPress.com account and get a gravatar. It’s like a profile picture. Once you have that, it shows every time you comment.

    • tony permalink
      December 3, 2009 5:58 pm

      just to clarify, if you’re going to put up ANY picture of your self, TONY C, it will, by default, look gay..

  5. Joe permalink
    December 30, 2009 7:44 pm

    How could you not include ‘The Sweetest Thing’ – that movie with Cameron Diaz and Kelly Bundy? Its a guys’ gross-out flick posing as a chick flick. Check it out.

Leave a Reply

